A NEW PERSPECTIVE, A NEW MAJOR, MORE INSPIRATION

"gaseous envelope expelled by a dying star."

A truly beautiful and inspiring image taken by The Hubble Space Telescope.

Some time has gone by since my last post, but I feel the need to update. A whole new perspective has jumped into my life, and it has been about three weeks since. It all started while I was heading home from dropping my fiance off at work. NPR news, on radio station 90.1, had only been a few minutes into one of the most inspiring talks that I had ever heard. The guest was astrophysicist, Neil deGrasse Tyson, and what I was about to learn would change what I seek in life. During the whole conversation I was enthralled in Tyson’s way of explaining space exploration; it made me want to go out there and do it myself! One of the things he mentioned that I found extremely exciting was the asteroid, Apophis, that will pass Earth in 2029; the even more interesting fact is that if nothing is done to disrupt its current course, there is a slim chance that in 2036, the asteroid could collide with Earth and possibly cause detrimental effects. Yes, knowing there is even a slight chance that a huge asteroid could possibly collide with Earth and potentially do some major damage is slightly unsettling, but this is the kind of information that gets me motivated. While I had never dreamed of becoming an astrophysicist until hearing Tyson speak, I now ponder things about the seemingly endless universe. Nighttime has become a beautiful sight to me: I look up at the sky with my Galaxy Tablet in hand using an astronomy app that shows me where planets, star constellations, and other galaxies are. I am truly bewildered at my new discovery and I now keep wanting to learn more information. Don’t get me wrong, I still want to get a degree in psychology, but now I have an even bigger passion for astrophysics. I can’t wait to see what will come of our space exploration because there is so much, even now, that is unknown to us. I want to be that person to help further space exploration along.

 

Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s ‘Most Astounding Fact’. <—— This video is absolutely amazing. Neil DeGrasse Tyson is an amazing author and astrophysicist.

Leave a Reply

